Trump Administration Sued by 18 Attorneys General Over Separation of Families at the Border

A group of 18 attorneys general has filed a lawsuit against the Trump Administration regarding the separation of families at the border. The Trump Administration’s “zero tolerance” policy has been under strict scrutiny by Democrats as it has resulted in the separation of children and parents.

The lawsuit was filed on Tuesday, June 26, 2018 in the US District Court for the Western District of Washington and argues that the separation of children and parents is discriminatory and violates equal protection under the Constitution. The complaint also states that the act of separating families is the Trump Administration’s means of deterring immigrants from entering the United States.

The group of attorneys general, all of whom are Democrats, are from California, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington state.

Additional Reading:

18 Attorneys General Sue Over Trump Administration Family SeparationsCNN (June 26, 2018)

State of Washington et al v. United States of America et al Complaint